2016 GSA Service manual - Page 2 - BMW R1200GS Forum : R1200 GS Forums
 4Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #11 of 21 (permalink) Old 19-Jun-2016, 02:31 PM (813)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 147
Quote:
Originally Posted by slowriding View Post
Sadly that is a pretty standard rationalization for buying black market items. I too have given money to BMW for multiple motorcycles yet I don't feel I'm entitled to steal their intellectual property via purchasing pirated products. The Chinese do this to US companies all day long, no respect for copyright or patent laws.

I'm turning the rant switch off now.
Like I said...I am not too worried about this one.....
fredaroony is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 21 (permalink) Old 02-Sep-2016, 06:51 PM (994)
Member
 
Outbacker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 45
Garage
So I decided to do the right thing and I bought the service manual for the bike from BMW to the tune of $150.00 CDN . Fine, it is updatable and all good.....till I get home and insert the CD and find out it is only for a Windows platform. I have always had a Mac and love it.....now what? I called the sales dude and he told me it was not available for OS systems but he will give me a refund. Thanks, but was really hoping to have this on the computer. Either I buy a cheap PC (the Mac gods will hate me forever) or I find a way to get a pirated copy for Mac and that does not sit well with me. What would you do? A cheap PC is about $300.00 + tax, and getting a used one opens me up to whatever viruses or malware it is infected with. Even a used one is about $200.00. Anyone else have a solution for this?

Thanks.

Bob
Victoria, BC
Canada

2016 R1200 GS Adventure
Outbacker is offline  
post #13 of 21 (permalink) Old 02-Sep-2016, 08:23 PM (058)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 147
Quote:
Originally Posted by Outbacker View Post
So I decided to do the right thing and I bought the service manual for the bike from BMW to the tune of $150.00 CDN . Fine, it is updatable and all good.....till I get home and insert the CD and find out it is only for a Windows platform. I have always had a Mac and love it.....now what? I called the sales dude and he told me it was not available for OS systems but he will give me a refund. Thanks, but was really hoping to have this on the computer. Either I buy a cheap PC (the Mac gods will hate me forever) or I find a way to get a pirated copy for Mac and that does not sit well with me. What would you do? A cheap PC is about $300.00 + tax, and getting a used one opens me up to whatever viruses or malware it is infected with. Even a used one is about $200.00. Anyone else have a solution for this?

Thanks.
You could always run VMWare Fusion then a Windows virtual machine
fredaroony is offline  
 
post #14 of 21 (permalink) Old 02-Sep-2016, 08:51 PM (077)
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by fredaroony View Post
You could always run VMWare Fusion then a Windows virtual machine
How to install Windows 10 on a Mac with Parallels Desktop | Digital Trends

2016 R1200 GS Adventure
MonTex is offline  
post #15 of 21 (permalink) Old 03-Sep-2016, 12:28 AM (228)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 147
I already know how to do it but thanks
fredaroony is offline  
post #16 of 21 (permalink) Old 03-Sep-2016, 09:30 AM (604)
Member
 
Outbacker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 45
Garage
Sounds like some good options, will certainly look into them.

Thanks.

Bob
Victoria, BC
Canada

2016 R1200 GS Adventure
Outbacker is offline  
post #17 of 21 (permalink) Old 03-Sep-2016, 12:04 PM (711)
GS (and DR)
 
marc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 2,490
Quote:
Originally Posted by fredaroony View Post
I already know how to do it but thanks
Then do it. I run the free VirtualBox software with a copy of Win XP from a long dead laptop. It works well for the two or three programs I have that require windows -- the RepROM is one of them; the GS-911 software is another. I can have a "Windows" window open on my Mac desktop along with whatever Mac apps I'm running at the time.

Name:  Screen Shot 2016-09-03 at 11.01.47 AM.jpg
Views: 209
Size:  273.1 KB
marc is offline  
post #18 of 21 (permalink) Old 03-Sep-2016, 02:57 PM (831)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 147
Quote:
Originally Posted by marc View Post
Then do it. I run the free VirtualBox software with a copy of Win XP from a long dead laptop. It works well for the two or three programs I have that require windows -- the RepROM is one of them; the GS-911 software is another. I can have a "Windows" window open on my Mac desktop along with whatever Mac apps I'm running at the time.
Errrmmm ok? Not sure why two posts about running VM's are directed at me as I never asked how to do it in the first place. I responded to someone asking how to run it on a Mac by telling them to run it in a VM

Here is the post in case you missed it 2016 GSA Service manual

Last edited by fredaroony; 03-Sep-2016 at 05:23 PM (933).
fredaroony is offline  
post #19 of 21 (permalink) Old 04-Sep-2016, 01:59 PM (791)
GS (and DR)
 
marc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 2,490
Quote:
Originally Posted by fredaroony View Post
Errrmmm ok? Not sure why two posts about running VM's are directed at me as I never asked how to do it in the first place.
One of the two posts is because I was an idiot and didn't follow the thread back to it source. Sorry about that.

To Outbacker... do what fredaroony, MonTex, or I suggested
marc is offline  
post #20 of 21 (permalink) Old 04-Sep-2016, 03:35 PM (858)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 147
Quote:
Originally Posted by marc View Post
One of the two posts is because I was an idiot and didn't follow the thread back to it source. Sorry about that.

To Outbacker... do what fredaroony, MonTex, or I suggested
No problem
fredaroony is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the BMW R1200GS Forum : R1200 GS Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome