Rdc control unit location? - BMW R1200GS Forum : R1200 GS Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old 18-May-2017, 10:45 AM (656) Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Mich33's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 7
Rdc control unit location?

Hello,

I think my rdc control unit (tpms receiver) is broken. I want to check the wiring or it probably needs to be replaced.
But I can't find it anywhere on my bike. And no info about it in the manual.

Where is it located? (Gs model 2008-2009.)
Thanks guys!
Mich33 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 16 (permalink) Old 18-May-2017, 10:53 AM (662)
Naviator
 
JetSpeed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Coronado, CA NASNI
Posts: 295
Garage
The RDC unit is under the rear seat and looks like:


Fly Navy
JetSpeed is offline  
post #3 of 16 (permalink) Old 18-May-2017, 12:21 PM (723) Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Mich33's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 7
Checked it but nothing to see there... should I remove the unit beneath the seat? - see attached pic
Attached Images
 
Mich33 is offline  
 
post #4 of 16 (permalink) Old 18-May-2017, 01:02 PM (751)
Naviator
 
JetSpeed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Coronado, CA NASNI
Posts: 295
Garage
Keep going it's underneath the silver cover that the rear pillion seat sits on at the far rear.

Fly Navy
JetSpeed is offline  
post #5 of 16 (permalink) Old 18-May-2017, 02:04 PM (794)
Junior Member
 
Clayton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 12
Why do you believe it is broken
Clayton is offline  
post #6 of 16 (permalink) Old 18-May-2017, 02:59 PM (832) Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Mich33's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 7
I think it's broken because my mechanic can't connect to it true the ecu, to write new sensor valves.
The software reads all bike settings, accept the rdc unit. It displays communication error.
But I'm not sure. I want to check the rdc unit, disconnect en connect the wiring, clean the contacts.
Maybe it's an other (software)problem..
Mich33 is offline  
post #7 of 16 (permalink) Old 18-May-2017, 03:10 PM (840)
Junior Member
 
Clayton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 12
Ah ok. How did you come to realise it was faulty, what were the symptoms
Clayton is offline  
post #8 of 16 (permalink) Old 19-May-2017, 02:14 AM (301) Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Mich33's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 7
The fault was there when I bought the bike. The tire pressure is not shown in the cockpit. The seller told me that the battery's of the valves were empty. I did not find it very important. After 6 months I needed new tyres en I installed new sensors valves in the wheels. But now I can not write the new valves into the system... 'google' pointed me at a possible problem with the rdc unit..
Mich33 is offline  
post #9 of 16 (permalink) Old 19-May-2017, 05:38 AM (443)
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: NE of Spartanburg
Posts: 49
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mich33 View Post
The fault was there when I bought the bike. The tire pressure is not shown in the cockpit. The seller told me that the battery's of the valves were empty. I did not find it very important. After 6 months I needed new tyres en I installed new sensors valves in the wheels. But now I can not write the new valves into the system... 'google' pointed me at a possible problem with the rdc unit..
Putting in new sensors is not plug and play. I think they need to be set up using the new serial numbers on the sensors or something like that. BMW service should be able to help you with that.

It's the Ride, Not the Destination.
OldButNotDead is offline  
post #10 of 16 (permalink) Old 19-May-2017, 12:18 PM (721)
Naviator
 
JetSpeed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Coronado, CA NASNI
Posts: 295
Garage
Odds are that the RDC module is not the problem and that the wheel sensors need to be matched to the unit, this can be done with a GS911 tool or by the dealer, the sensors need to be woke up if you don't have the codes that are printed on each sensor if they are oem BMW units.

Fly Navy

Last edited by JetSpeed; 19-May-2017 at 05:12 PM (925).
JetSpeed is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the BMW R1200GS Forum : R1200 GS Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome