What ever happened to Mac Mapsource? - Page 2 - BMW R1200GS Forum : R1200 GS Forums
 

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 27-Jun-2008, 09:58 AM (623)
marc's Avatar
Cam Killer
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 2,004
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fiberfav View Post
I was able to install the North America maps on my Mac straight off the DVD.
The Garmin Bobcat software (Mapsource for Mac I guess...) has a nice UI and all but it's not totally stable, I've had a few crashes, remember that it's still a beta version.
The "not stable" part is less annoying than the lack of features. When routing I find I have to add a waypoint then insert the waypoint into the route. The software will not let me drag a route segment to pick a different set of roads. Frustrating. But I use it.

Until recently I was routing with google then using GMaptoGPX to save the route then use GPSBabel upload to the GPS. However, GMaptoGPX didn't work for me the last two times I tried to use it.

// marc
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 17-Sep-2008, 02:23 PM (808)
marc's Avatar
Cam Killer
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 2,004
Default

The mac version is now called RoadTrip for Mac.

http://www8.garmin.com/support/downl...ls.jsp?id=4332

I find it quite usable on my mac since they added some of the features that I thought were lacking with bobcat. I've not tried loading maps as I'd already done the map conversion for bobcat.

// marc
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 05-Oct-2008, 06:06 PM (962)
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 34
Default

+3. I'd love Mapsource for Mac....
I have an old Dell Laptop that died. I 'invested' 50$ in a replacement drive specifically to run Mapsource. I create all my routes in Mapsource and download to my GPS. I've been creating routes for 3 years now and I have to keep some sort of PC alive to use it.

A friend of mine uses PC emulation software in his mac with satisfactory results.
__________________
- -
07 R12GS (Granite)
motorcycle-overland.com
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 28-Oct-2009, 06:05 PM (962)
GuitarCrazyo's Avatar
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: US
Posts: 5
Send a message via ICQ to GuitarCrazyo
Default What ever happened to Mac Mapsource

How do you sync photos from iPhone to Mac...?
I can Sync from Aperture to the iPhone
but what about the other way around...?
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 29-Oct-2009, 08:11 PM (049)
marc's Avatar
Cam Killer
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 2,004
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GuitarCrazyo View Post
How do you sync photos from iPhone to Mac...?
I can Sync from Aperture to the iPhone
but what about the other way around...?
Not really a mapsource question, and this isn't a generic "how to do stuff on your mac" thread and it doesn't have much anything to do with an R1200GS, but....

plug in your iphone
start Aperture
Import from device

If aperture is already running it will likely see the pics in the iphone and ask if you want to import them.

You do it the same way if using iPhoto.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 23-Mar-2010, 12:31 AM (230)
has adventure
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Palmer, Alaska
Posts: 1
Default Garmin Mapsource for Mac workaround - PC maps on a Mac

I've successfully put this workaround to use:

Requirements:
With MapSource for Windows installed on my Boot Camp partition, I ran the Garmin MapConverter in Windows. MapConverter duplicated the existing maps from the Windows MapSource installation into a folder of my choosing.

The City Navigator North America, Mexico, and Brazil maps together finished in ten minutes. The Canada topo map took 30+ minutes to convert, and the US topo is still converting.

After installing the Garmin Mac apps in the list above, I navigated to the converted maps on my Windows partition from within OS X. The "gmapi" files displayed with a Garmin icon, and double clicking one opened the MapManager app which promptly asked for confirmation to install the selected map.

After the installation succeeded (in less than a minute for City Navigator Mexico), I quit MapManager and ran Garmin RoadTrip. The new map appeared in the maps select box at the top right. Whoa-la! Mapsource for Mac.

Read a review about Garmin RoadTrip as compared to MapSource. You won't be doing in RoadTrip what you did in MapSource any better -- but it looks pretty.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 31-May-2010, 08:24 PM (058)
BarkSlayer's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Northwest Ohio
Posts: 63
Default

I believe the MapSource product for Macs is called Garmin Road Trip.
__________________
"If guns cause crime, then all of mine are defective." Ted Nugent

2007 BMW R1200GS
2009 KTM 300XC-W
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



BMW R NineT Forum

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.5.2
Portions Copyright © 2006-2007 by H. Marc Lewis