ABS failure? - BMW R1200GS Forum : R1200 GS Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 05-Jul-2007, 10:43 AM (655) Thread Starter

ABS failure?

I'm new to BMW motorcycles after four decades on English and, well, Brand X bikes. Just purchased an R1150GS of 2004 vintage. When "parking-lot riding" to get the feel, after a self-induced panic stop, the ABS system seems to simply die, meaning there are no flashing lights and the RID does not indicate the system is even on. After shutting off the ignition and restarting, the system comes back alive, i.e, the red ABS light flashes until going faster than 3 MPH and the pump whines a little, etc. Are we allowed only one panic stop per riding event? I've searched this site for applicable service bulletins but have seen nothing except for 2005 or later R1200GS bikes. Speaking of electrics, is there a simple code reader which can be used to read the fault codes in the motronic (as there is for BMW cars) or must a dealer do that? Many thanks for the assistance. Shineman
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 3 (permalink) Old 05-Jul-2007, 01:20 PM (764)

If I understand your question correctly, the system is behaving properly.

I have an '06 GS. The starting procedure for mine is as follows:

Turn on ignition.
Computer goes through self check, with red, then yellow indicators turning on, then off. Brake failure message blinks in red.

Start engine.
Brake failure light continues to blink.

Place in gear and begin moving.
Brake failure light blinks until you reach about 3mph, then light goes out. ABS is now enabled.