Nav6 Gone unstable when installed in Bike - BMW R1200GS Forum : R1200 GS Forums
 5Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 46 (permalink) Old 12-Oct-2018, 12:28 PM (727) Thread Starter
Enthusiast
 
stevel3007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: PacNW, USA
Posts: 76
Garage
Nav6 Gone unstable when installed in Bike

My Nav6 unit (about 1 year old) has developed some unstable behavior when installed on the 17 R1200GS.

For the past couple of weeks, after the GPS boots up and when I first start off with the bike, it begins randomly switching between screens - although the same screens keep appearing (a data entry display and a route definition display most frequently). It still responds to touch and the WonderWheel but always flips back to these displays. I can see the engine data display momentarily with what looks like valid data so it appears to be communicating with the ECU. And the current position GPS display appears correct but again, only stays on for a brief second.

My initial thought was the battery was toast but when I remove the unit from the bike, it is rock solid and will last for a few hours on the battery. I also looked at the bike mount contact pins - they are all exposed and look clean. Re-seated the SD card and the battery.

I don't think this is a temperature issue - my garage is warm and the outside temps here at the moment are not below the low 40's F.

The unit software version just installed is 5.50 although the issue predates this update (I think...)

Anyone seen this kind of behavior?

17 R1200GS Low
stevel3007 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 46 (permalink) Old 12-Oct-2018, 03:54 PM (871)
Naviator
 
JetSpeed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Coronado, CA NASNI
Posts: 1,376
Garage
May try cleaning the gold contacts on the back of the unit and the contacts on the GPS bracket and see if that helps, I have had my NAV-VI do some strange things and that fixed it.
I use Deoxit Gold to clean contacts.

2013 R1200GSW
JetSpeed is offline  
post #3 of 46 (permalink) Old 16-Oct-2018, 10:23 AM (640) Thread Starter
Enthusiast
 
stevel3007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: PacNW, USA
Posts: 76
Garage
I contacted Garmin as have many others as I have now learned on this issue and with no questions asked are sending me a new (not refurb'd) unit. Apparently a not uncommon problem with the display when mounted on the bike.

Also being discussed on advrider...

https://advrider.com/f/threads/nav-v...hange.1289961/

17 R1200GS Low
stevel3007 is offline  
 
post #4 of 46 (permalink) Old 16-Oct-2018, 03:21 PM (848)
Naviator
 
JetSpeed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Coronado, CA NASNI
Posts: 1,376
Garage
If you would have cleaned the contacts you may have not had to go through any trouble of contacting Garmin and exchanging units.

2013 R1200GSW
JetSpeed is offline  
post #5 of 46 (permalink) Old 17-Oct-2018, 09:22 AM (598) Thread Starter
Enthusiast
 
stevel3007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: PacNW, USA
Posts: 76
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by JetSpeed View Post
If you would have cleaned the contacts you may have not had to go through any trouble of contacting Garmin and exchanging units.
I did with rubbing alcohol on the pins on both the unit itself and the mount - a couple of times obviously to no avail. I also looked closely at the pins to ensure they were all fully extended and not stuck in the retracted position.

The contact person at Garmin was familiar with this issue and suggested this was a "common problem" without stating so overtly and with no questions asked is sending me a [brand] new unit. I would expect if this was a dirty/retracted contact issue, it would be much more cost effective for them to suggest that first. On the other hand, maybe in the interest of customer satisfaction, they just made me happy with a new unit.

What is interesting is the display seems to think it is being touched in exactly the same location on the display at about the 930 position ~ 3/4" in from the edge. I know this because that square on the engine data display is what is always toggling to the data entry display.
JetSpeed likes this.

17 R1200GS Low
stevel3007 is offline  
post #6 of 46 (permalink) Old 17-Oct-2018, 01:46 PM (781)
Naviator
 
JetSpeed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Coronado, CA NASNI
Posts: 1,376
Garage
OK now this makes sense and the issue may be with the screens digitizer.
Viking likes this.

2013 R1200GSW
JetSpeed is offline  
post #7 of 46 (permalink) Old 17-Oct-2018, 01:53 PM (786)
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 83
I had the same issue with my Nav VI a couple of weeks ago. Riding in to work, the symptoms appears like a stuck wheel. I was listening to music from Nav VI app, kept scrolling as if I am toggling with the wheel. To resolve the first time, I shutdown bike and Nav. Worked fine for a few minutes, I thought that I might have been too rough with wheel. Same ride to work, after shutdown, it happened again. Same symptoms. this time I left it alone, knowing I would be passing by local dealer and I will show mechanic. Showed him the scrolling screen, he shutdown my bike, and noticed that the Nav VI for some reason still shows battery charging. He removed Nav VI and snapped back on. I have not had the symptoms since then. 2 weeks has not returned. Good to know I can refer to this thread and the other thread from Adventure Rider if it returns, I can get my Nav VI replaced.
rrrdbw is offline  
post #8 of 46 (permalink) Old 17-Oct-2018, 04:08 PM (880) Thread Starter
Enthusiast
 
stevel3007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: PacNW, USA
Posts: 76
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by rrrdbw View Post
I had the same issue with my Nav VI a couple of weeks ago. Riding in to work, the symptoms appears like a stuck wheel. I was listening to music from Nav VI app, kept scrolling as if I am toggling with the wheel. To resolve the first time, I shutdown bike and Nav. Worked fine for a few minutes, I thought that I might have been too rough with wheel. Same ride to work, after shutdown, it happened again. Same symptoms. this time I left it alone, knowing I would be passing by local dealer and I will show mechanic. Showed him the scrolling screen, he shutdown my bike, and noticed that the Nav VI for some reason still shows battery charging. He removed Nav VI and snapped back on. I have not had the symptoms since then. 2 weeks has not returned. Good to know I can refer to this thread and the other thread from Adventure Rider if it returns, I can get my Nav VI replaced.
I did see the apparent scrolling effect (like someone was rolling the thumbwheel) also on the last day I was using it but by then I had given up on it and was calling Garmin so did not pay too much attention to it.

Also, mine showed the changing display symptoms quite infrequently initially but gradually increased in frequency in the final weeks I used it. So.... your time may be at hand...

17 R1200GS Low
stevel3007 is offline  
post #9 of 46 (permalink) Old 23-Oct-2018, 09:03 AM (585)
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 83
Quote:
Originally Posted by stevel3007 View Post
I did see the apparent scrolling effect (like someone was rolling the thumbwheel) also on the last day I was using it but by then I had given up on it and was calling Garmin so did not pay too much attention to it.

Also, mine showed the changing display symptoms quite infrequently initially but gradually increased in frequency in the final weeks I used it. So.... your time may be at hand...
Da*n it. Saturday while doing Highway 36 loop first time . My Nav VI acted up again twice. Very concerning now, and distracting while hitting the twisties when the Nav VI screen keeps changing . The worst moment while screen changing I tried to resolve by playing with thumbwheel and somehow got to screen adjustment screen. I did not mean to select but it dimmed the display to "0" . I had to pull over shut everything down to resolve issue.

I will check with dealership today to see what they have to say about it. I will call Garmin tomorrow.
rrrdbw is offline  
post #10 of 46 (permalink) Old 23-Oct-2018, 09:06 AM (587)
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 83
Here's pic of it going to "0" display
Attached Images
 
rrrdbw is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the BMW R1200GS Forum : R1200 GS Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome