6Likes
  • 2 Post By mikec
  • 1 Post By kramdunc
  • 1 Post By advjasonp
  • 2 Post By advjasonp

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 23-Apr-2019, 02:27 PM (810) Thread Starter

Nav VI wiring connectors

I have a 2016 R12GS with GPS prep, except the seller took off the mounting plate and cradle.
A buddy gave me a Nav VI with a 4-button cradle. It's new, but came with no docs or boxes or anything. Just the GPS and the cradle.

The cradle has a wire with connector that looks to fit the BMW GPS canbus perfectly, except that the connector on the cradle has an indented corner, making it impossible to slide it in and make the connection. It appears the cradle is made for some other variation of a canbus connector, maybe on a car?? I have no experience with canbus.

I'm wanting to see if I can hook up the Nav VI and use it without the wheel and other BMW specific stuff, since this cradle doesn't support that.

Does anyone know how to identify the connector on the GPS that has the indented corner such that I could locate one to buy? I want to find a female version and make an adapter cable.

Is this connector meant for a car? Is it for other bikes? BMW or non-BMW bikes? I can't figure out why they made this connector to NOT work with my R1200GS!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 23-Apr-2019, 04:55 PM (913)

Garage
You've a good friend to give you a Nav VI. If I were in your shoes and if the bike already has the so-called Wonder Wheel, I'd order the correct mount for the bike and forget the 4 button cradle:

These images came from the A & S parts fiche: https://www.ascycles.com/bmw/2013/R1...html#Subcatdiv Notice the proper wire connector so this should be plug 'n play.

Hope this helps,

Mike
Kemo Sabe and kramdunc like this.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 23-Apr-2019, 05:39 PM (944)
Fisherman on 2 wheels!

Garage