Tire Pressure Sensor - BMW R1200GS Forum : R1200 GS Forums
 1Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 04-May-2017, 01:39 PM (777) Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 30
Tire Pressure Sensor

I have gotten a second set of wheels for my 2017 1200gsa so I can have an on and off road setup. The wheels didn't come with TPS and I'm wonder if I can buy the cheep ones from ebay? The ebay ones are $50 for a set verses $350 from BMW. Also are the sensors plug and play or do they need some programming before they will talk to the motorcycle?


thanks
John Dennis is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-May-2017, 07:59 AM (541)
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: NE of Spartanburg
Posts: 92
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by John Dennis View Post
I have gotten a second set of wheels for my 2017 1200gsa so I can have an on and off road setup. The wheels didn't come with TPS and I'm wonder if I can buy the cheep ones from ebay? The ebay ones are $50 for a set verses $350 from BMW. Also are the sensors plug and play or do they need some programming before they will talk to the motorcycle?


thanks
Are you planning on having the read out in a Nav V or your display work? I would guess, and that's what it is, a guess, that the sensor would have to be compatible with the RDC module or would have a control module that plugs into the Can Bus to accomplish that.

I assumed that your first wheels have a sensor that works with the RDC, right? I know you can have two sets of BMW sensors work with RDC but need a GS911 or a dealer to make the second set work. Don't know how brand x sensors would fit into that scenario.

It's the Ride, Not the Destination.

Last edited by OldButNotDead; 05-May-2017 at 08:02 AM (543).
OldButNotDead is offline  
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-May-2017, 12:43 PM (738)
Senior Member
 
bmwbob51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 725
Auto sync

Quote:
Originally Posted by OldButNotDead View Post
Are you planning on having the read out in a Nav V or your display work? I would guess, and that's what it is, a guess, that the sensor would have to be compatible with the RDC module or would have a control module that plugs into the Can Bus to accomplish that.

I assumed that your first wheels have a sensor that works with the RDC, right? I know you can have two sets of BMW sensors work with RDC but need a GS911 or a dealer to make the second set work. Don't know how brand x sensors would fit into that scenario.
I had a new TPS installed while having a tire installed the bike and the TPS automatically started reading on the NAV V after a few miles!
bmwbob51 is offline  
 
post #4 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-May-2017, 01:17 PM (761)
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: NE of Spartanburg
Posts: 92
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by bmwbob51 View Post
I had a new TPS installed while having a tire installed the bike and the TPS automatically started reading on the NAV V after a few miles!
Just a bit confused. The one above, is that your first set of sensors and TPS? Is it a BMW unit? The BMW unit will only work with two sets of BMW sensors. I was under the impression if you, for example, have a second set of wheels you have to actuate the sensors to work with the controler. Like I said before, if you use non-BMW set of sensors I have no clue if they will work or not.

It's the Ride, Not the Destination.
OldButNotDead is offline  
post #5 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-May-2017, 05:25 PM (934)
Senior Member
 
PoppyGreg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Central Coast NSW Australia
Posts: 288
Garage
I reckon

Spend your $50 on a decent pressure gauge, 12v pump and puncture repair kit. Much better value. The gauge will tell ou if the pressure's down. Your eyes will tell you if the tyre's flat.
Cheers
Greg
PoppyGreg is offline  
post #6 of 12 (permalink) Old 08-May-2017, 09:59 AM (624) Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by OldButNotDead View Post
Are you planning on having the read out in a Nav V or your display work? I would guess, and that's what it is, a guess, that the sensor would have to be compatible with the RDC module or would have a control module that plugs into the Can Bus to accomplish that.

I assumed that your first wheels have a sensor that works with the RDC, right? I know you can have two sets of BMW sensors work with RDC but need a GS911 or a dealer to make the second set work. Don't know how brand x sensors would fit into that scenario.


Yes, I would like the second set of wheels to work just like the first set.

I'm new to BMW and I'm still becoming familiar with the tech side of their machines. I'll look up this GS911 tool thanks.

I may buy the ebay sensors and give them a shot, I think its worth the gamble. I'll post a report after its all set up and working.
John Dennis is offline  
post #7 of 12 (permalink) Old 08-May-2017, 10:00 AM (625) Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by PoppyGreg View Post
Spend your $50 on a decent pressure gauge, 12v pump and puncture repair kit. Much better value. The gauge will tell ou if the pressure's down. Your eyes will tell you if the tyre's flat.
Cheers
Greg
lol I hear you and I have them items. It just one of them things, its there so why not make it work.
PoppyGreg likes this.
John Dennis is offline  
post #8 of 12 (permalink) Old 08-May-2017, 10:01 AM (626) Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by bmwbob51 View Post
I had a new TPS installed while having a tire installed the bike and the TPS automatically started reading on the NAV V after a few miles!

Was it an aftermarket or BMW TPS?
John Dennis is offline  
post #9 of 12 (permalink) Old 08-May-2017, 11:10 PM (174)
Senior Member
 
bmwbob51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 725
Oem

Quote:
Originally Posted by John Dennis View Post
Was it an aftermarket or BMW TPS?
Seems a non BMW dealer trashed my rear wheel and dealer had to buy me a new wheel and TPS. I rode back to BMW dealer to activate TPS and it started registering on the way!

Last edited by bmwbob51; 09-May-2017 at 05:37 AM (442).
bmwbob51 is offline  
post #10 of 12 (permalink) Old 09-May-2017, 04:50 AM (409)
Bike&Ski
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Central Mass
Posts: 95
PCyr is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the BMW R1200GS Forum : R1200 GS Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome