NAV VI not turning on with bike - Page 2 - BMW R1200GS Forum : R1200 GS Forums
 4Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #11 of 27 (permalink) Old 10-Apr-2018, 09:45 AM (614)
Senior Member
 
Crucian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Never Never Land aka St. Croix Virgin Islands
Posts: 343
Garage
Garmin Express will not recognize my NAV VI on an iMac, current OSX. I finally just gave up and use a friend's MS Laptop, no problem. Map updates from Garmin's contractor are all too often way out of date, compared to Google/Apple. I've often suspected that Garmin's Aircraft business gets priority and their vehicle nav business is a bastard stepchild. That said, it's still pretty good stuff, quirks and maps aside....
Crucian is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 27 (permalink) Old 10-Apr-2018, 06:23 PM (974)
Senior Member
 
GrayBeard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Annapolis MD
Posts: 562
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crucian View Post
Garmin Express will not recognize my NAV VI on an iMac, current OSX. I finally just gave up and use a friend's MS Laptop, no problem. Map updates from Garmin's contractor are all too often way out of date, compared to Google/Apple. I've often suspected that Garmin's Aircraft business gets priority and their vehicle nav business is a bastard stepchild. That said, it's still pretty good stuff, quirks and maps aside....
If you look at Garmin's financial reporting, it's just the opposite. While the aircraft business is some real state of the art expensive stuff, that entire industry is but a fraction of the automotive, and handheld markets. Cameras, watches, etc are also a rapidly growing business for them.

BTW, my MacOS 'outer works just fine with Garmin Express and my van updates.

Current scooters:
'16 R1200GS Triple Black
'16 KTM Super Duke 1290R
'18 Yamaha WR250R
GrayBeard is offline  
post #13 of 27 (permalink) Old 11-Apr-2018, 11:18 PM (179) Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 106
I have to say I have no issues connecting to my Mac. It might need a hard reset but I have not gotten around to doing it.
Scubaman is offline  
 
post #14 of 27 (permalink) Old 18-Apr-2018, 03:18 AM (345)
Junior Member
 
Clark2262's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 11
Garage
NAV Not Turning On

I have the exact same problem. Does it even charge when the bike is parked and on a trickle charger?

I thought about taking it out and putting it on it's own charger each time I park the bike for an extended time but it is terribly difficult to get back in the cradle.

Anyone else have that problem too?

Clark
2017 R1200GSA
"Knowledge speaks, but wisdom listens." (Jimi Hendrix)
Clark2262 is offline  
post #15 of 27 (permalink) Old 18-Apr-2018, 04:19 AM (388)
Senior Member
 
Clay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Kimberton,Pa.
Posts: 285
Quote:
Originally Posted by Clark2262 View Post
I have the exact same problem. Does it even charge when the bike is parked and on a trickle charger?

I thought about taking it out and putting it on it's own charger each time I park the bike for an extended time ..
Yes..my battery was replaced under Garmin warranty... Upon reading the oem manual..when the bike is parked for an extended period it s recommended to remove the battery from the unit..
Clay is offline  
post #16 of 27 (permalink) Old 19-Apr-2018, 03:14 AM (343)
Senior Member
 
Houdini's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 341
Garage
I'm very late to this thread but I thought I'd have my say. If ever I have had glitches with any Garmin unit, I remove the unit's battery for 20 seconds and then reinstall it. With a few issues I've had, resetting with the on/off button has not always given a solution.
gsa_guy likes this.

Past: 1955 Norton ES-2, 1972 Norton 750 Commando Long Range Fastback, 1977 Honda 350XLE, 2001 R1150RT (written off), 2005 R1150RT, 2004 R1150GS, 2001 F650GS.
Current: 2013 R1200GS LC
Houdini is offline  
post #17 of 27 (permalink) Old 19-Apr-2018, 10:56 AM (663)
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Stafford, VA
Posts: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by ExHarley Rider View Post
I get a similar problem if the bike is turned on (but not started) and then turned off before the Nav VI has time to fully boot up. The only solution I have found for this is to remove the Nav from the cradle and remove the battery. I tried the "30 second" method, but to no avail.
I just had this happen the other day, dark screen, power button didn't work. I removed the unit from the cradle & plugged it in to see if Garmin Express would be able to see it and plugging in the USB connection didn't do anything either. I ended up unplugging the battery and reconnecting it and then all worked as normal.

I've now been more diligent to let it fully boot up before turning off the bike and it hasn't reared it's head again, yet.
helo_pilot is offline  
post #18 of 27 (permalink) Old 30-Apr-2018, 06:26 PM (976)
30 years on 2 wheels
 
gsa_guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: FL
Posts: 21
Garage
nav 6

mine would reboot endlesly , i had installed the optional sd card. after removing all is OK now

“The only difference between me and a madman is that I am not mad.”
Salvador Dali
gsa_guy is offline  
post #19 of 27 (permalink) Old 02-May-2018, 11:34 AM (690) Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 106
Happened to me yesterday again after having the bike parked for a week. Took the unit off cradle held button and nothing. After riding with it off in the cradle for 15 minutes I stopped and it immediately started to boot up once I hit the ignition off button. The screen read low battery.
Scubaman is offline  
post #20 of 27 (permalink) Old 31-May-2018, 01:55 PM (788)
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by GrayBeard View Post
I have the problem with it not turning on but only when it's sat for a long time and has no charge on it. I don't know why it would run the battery down when it's off but it does. Are you sure it is getting charged by your cradle - maybe the problem is with the cradle?
+1, this is when I see that behavior.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
regnock is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the BMW R1200GS Forum : R1200 GS Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome