Questions on Germany Austria trip - BMW R1200GS Forum : R1200 GS Forums
 10Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 20 (permalink) Old 07-Feb-2018, 01:32 PM (814) Thread Starter

Questions on Germany Austria trip

Hi all. I am planing a trip through Germany and Austria. I live in California. I have a 2017 GSA and was wondering if anyone has ever shipped their bikes to Europe ? Or is it just easier and cheaper to rent a GSA in Germany? ANY and all help is welcome including destinations and such. I will be going in September 2018 and have about 3 weeks to screw around!! Thanks!

David
Southpaw likes this.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 20 (permalink) Old 07-Feb-2018, 07:26 PM (059)

Hi David,
Welcome to the forum. I’m new to it myself and probably don’t have much info to share but happy to throw in my 2c.
From the perspective of hassle you’re better on renting over there. Shipping would be cheaper than flying, you would need to go through customs and also get insurance which you could get here for a high price or through the ADAC (equivalent to AAA) there. Three weeks is a short window and if you ship there maybe a chance it doesn’t arrive your expected day.
There are several rental options over there. BMW Motorrad in Munich offering rentals (bikes and gear) and probably a good bit of additional info.
I know there are options in Frankfurt as well.
Google “motorcycle rentals Germany” and you will get several results.

Have fun!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
post #3 of 20 (permalink) Old 07-Feb-2018, 10:41 PM (195)

Rent-a-Boxer