Cold weather ride - BMW R1200GS Forum : R1200 GS Forums
 40Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 22 (permalink) Old 07-Nov-2018, 07:34 PM (065) Thread Starter

Cold weather ride

New to this forum but I'm a veteran rider. Has anyone ever ridden 400+ miles in 35 degree weather with a 25 mph tailwind? If so, any tips? I've ridden that far in a day before but not when it was that cold. I have a 2011 r1200gs. Thanks for any feedback! -Jeff
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 22 (permalink) Old 07-Nov-2018, 08:44 PM (114)

Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by r1200gs_jeff View Post
New to this forum but I'm a veteran rider. Has anyone ever ridden 400+ miles in 35 degree weather with a 25 mph tailwind? If so, any tips? I've ridden that far in a day before but not when it was that cold. I have a 2011 r1200gs. Thanks for any feedback! -Jeff
I refer you to the old windchill chart.

https://www.businessinsider.com/how-...thermia-2014-1

Assume you're going 60mph @ 35 degrees, in 30 minutes you can get frostbite is not protected. Shaking means you've reached hypothermia. Your senses dull, reaction time is reduced and fatigue increases. Remember a motorcyclist makes around 32 decisions per second. At 37 degrees water on a bridge can ice over.

You should be in shape and acclimated to the environmental conditionals before trying this, have good heated gear and wear a wicking base and layers. When your hands start to "tingle" it's a warning. When you can't feel them means you need attention. Skin with a waxy appearance, you're in trouble.

--
2017 R1200GS
1992 K75S
2013 G650GS
post #3 of 22 (permalink) Old 08-Nov-2018, 03:49 AM (409)

Garage
Here's probably the stupidest thing I'll do all day. Comment on cold weather riding from the Tropics? I've done cold weather riding though including 25 degrees in jeans so here goes.