R1200GS Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
86 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
A quick question, I bought the sevearl attachments for the accessory port (USB for phone and trickle charger conncetion) but my battery tender doesn't seem to work. Someone told me only the BMW charger works in this accossory port. Is that correct?

·
Registered
87 Posts
A quick question, I bought the sevearl attachments for the accessory port (USB for phone and trickle charger conncetion) but my battery tender doesn't seem to work. Someone told me only the BMW charger works in this accossory port. Is that correct?
My Optimate 4 works thru the port. Have to watch what you plug into that is my understanding. The wrong thing could fry the ECU is my understanding. But I am no expert.

·
Registered
275 Posts
A Battery Tender (Plus) will come with a fused pig tail that will attach to the battery terminals. A 15 amp fuse will allow you to run an air compressor or heated clothes as well as to top off your battery. Obviously, not all at the same time...

·
Registered
86 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
On all my other bikes I have attached the lead for the tender directly to the battery, but in this case I already have my Canbus attched to the battery and it's a little crowded. That's why I was hoping I could go through the accessory port.

·
Registered
7 Posts
On all my other bikes I have attached the lead for the tender directly to the battery, but in this case I already have my Canbus attched to the battery and it's a little crowded. That's why I was hoping I could go through the accessory port.
Did you try turning the bike on first, connecting the charger, then turning the bike off? That is the procedure for the BMW charger. From my understanding, that port is only active for 30seconds while the bike is off then it gets disabled unless it senses a charge.

·
Registered
46 Posts