R1200GS Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I tried to up load a video and couldn't so I'll try to explain the problem
I'm new to Basecamp but I thought I had a pretty good grip on the basics.
I'm trying to plot a ride.
Whats happening is I'm trying to turn off a road onto another road and instead of connecting the way points next to each other it picks a route that goes all the way around and back to the second way point.
Specifically. The end of the Blue Ridge Parkway in Cherokee NC, trying to make a left turn onto Bia 1410. I zoomed in all the way, I've tried to make my way points close together or farther apart and every time it routes out to 441S to Bia 441 and back up to the way point I chose on Bia 1410 and I can't figure out why.
I went into Routing options and unchecked everything under Avoidance's and tried all 3 route preferences. :confused:

·
Registered
795 Posts
welcome to basecamp (sarcasm intended)

I feel your pain. The simplest fix for that I've found is to put your points closer together, IOW beat basecamp on the head with a frying pan until you make it do what you want. I'll warn you that when you import your route, it may or may not go through as drawn, IOW when it hits your gps the recalc may still occur. ALWAYS go over your route on the gps before you blindly follow it.

I will add that I recently plotted the blueridge pkwy and met with frustration also. Once you're on the pkwy it is pretty easy to follow, but meeting up with it, getting back on it, leaving it can be challenging. It would seem that it should be easy as pie, right? It isn't. Basecamp kept directing me to I 81....and you would think that something as famous as the BRP would be highlighted on "travel" software like basecamp, but it is NOT. In fact, you have to go into a pretty magnified screen to see it and it is labeled with 0.0006 sized font.