R1200GS Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all, I am a newbie to this forum. I just completed a 3200 km trip from Amsterdam to Kharkiv, Ukraine, between November 30 and December 11 of 2020.

I was riding my 2006 R 1200 GSA. I bought the bike in June in Holland from a reputable dealer. It had just shy of 70,000 km, and was in tiptop shape. I put a couple of thousand kilometers with no problems whatsoever, and then went on this big trip. But before I did so, I had it checked from end to end, and everything was obviously fine.

On the trip, I started to notice that when I came to my bike in the mornings, it was already in first gear. I started consciously making sure that I was putting the bike to bed in neutral—but then I’d wake up in the morning, and she’d be in first gear.

This matters to me very much. because of the one time on this trip that I dropped the bike: At a gas station, on my second day of riding, I stopped by the pumps. I thought that I had put the bike in neutral; I always check the indicator light out of habit before letting go of the clutch when in neutral. But this time, I let go of the clutch, the bike gave a lurch, stalled, and tipped over.

At the time, I thought it had been me simply being careless. Embarrassing, but no big deal. But as the trip continued, and I started noticing how the gearbox would slip from neutral to first gear in the mornings, I started wondering if my bike drop from the beginning of the trip had really been an incident of this gear slippage.

Any comments, observations, or especially any comment from someone with a similar experience would be greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
12 Posts
That is strange.
Check to see if something got bent in the tipover that might be putting pressure on the lever or linkage.
Try re-adjusting the shift lever. Let us know what you find.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Gravity and/or vibration from an idling motor = BAD!