R1200GS Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
When owning a Buell I was able to use a hitch trailer hitch style hauler which lifts the front wheel and secures it while rolling on the back wheel.

I believe the 12GS has a dry clutch so it should not cause damage while rolling with the engine off and in neutral. Please correct me if this is wrong.

I am new to the GS bike and curious if anyone has used this type of device successfully —or will it run into trouble?

·
Registered
44 Posts
R12GS is shaft drive. Your Buell is belt with connected sprockets. IMO, if you drag the ass end of a BMW, you are asking for problems. Same reason why you don't tow a car with it's drive wheels on the ground. Why are you hauling your R12GS? Why not ride? That's the point of motorcycles. Especially these. But, I guess Harley owners are used to towing their shit.

·
Registered
52 Posts
Welcome to the board.

I don't have experience with towing a bike as described but can certainly understand the need under different scenarios. I have a friend who RV's with his wife around the country. They haul a bike with them as they love being able to 2 wheel it at many of their destinations once settled in.

I'm sure you'll receive some informative answers to your good question here. There are a lot of knowledgeable (and polite) of like minded members here.

·
Survivor
677 Posts
Welcome! Despite the sophomoric and pretentious chiding you received earlier, I think you will find most members here try to be helpful.