R1200GS Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
52 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

Wanted to ask if any of you noticed pain around your left knee when riding over long distance (around 100+ kms) sitting. I have noticed my left knee is often not even close to the tank, while my right knee is right next to it. Checking if its something common, or a fault in my body which I need to resolve.

Cheers.

·
Registered
627 Posts
I carry a Costco sized bottle of Advil on my long rides. My recreational drug of choice - every time I recreate, I need it.

·
Registered
18 Posts
You might try the Ace velcro knee support/brace available at most drug stores. Not expensive, and it gives a nice feeling of support. Adjustable. But I'm no doctor, and if your pain is from arthritis or other degenerative issues, I'm not sure if it will help. It just makes rides more comfortable for me.

·
Registered
34 Posts
Talk to your doctor. If you're over 40 there's probably some arthritis going on. Ask about PT, strengthening and stretching exercises. Adjust your bike's ergonomics if you can.

I found improving my core strength helped a lot with back and shoulder pain.

·
Premium Member
1,242 Posts
I injured my left knee in the army and, about three years ago, it was really bothering me on long rides. I went to a Flexogenics orthopedic facility and, after an exam and x-rays, I was informed I was a candidate for treatment. Since I've had cancer, my on cells couldn't be used so they shoved "chicken parts" in there. I was pain free for two trips to Alaska and two cross-country rides. I'm leaving in April for three months on the road and just completed my second round of injections. Pain free.

Mike

·
Registered
517 Posts
Shucks hes worried about one knee.......my shoulders, joints, knees, back all hurt and ofcourse its all helped by the amazing roads in the Himalayas

·
Registered
52 Posts
Discussion Starter #10