R1200GS Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Good Day everybody.

I'm Diaan, I live in Durban, South Africa. A Helicopter pilot by profession. I ride a 310R and a 2007 R1200GS.

I was involved in a small prang that left my GS in need of repairs. Nothing too serious, bent front shock and the pillion footrest needed re-welding. I removed the entire rear frame and front shocks. The engine was in perfect running order after the accident. The airbox was removed and the injectors covered to keep debris out.

For various reasons, the bike stood like this for almost a year and a half. Eventually, everything has been fixed and I'm reassembling the bike.

Here's the question: Following an extended period of not running, what is the best way to get this motor running again? What maintenance tasks should I complete before cranking it up with the expectation of going on a test ride around the block?

I'm thinking oil change service at least. I'm also wondering if it would be worth it to remove the plugs and crank the starter ( or turn the shaft ) to ensure things are turning without the added stress of combustion.

Your advice is eagarly awaited.

Regards,

Diaan

·
Registered
92 Posts
I wouldn't worry about it. A year and half isn't that long if the bike was stored properly. You could always start it up on the main stand and run through the gears before going out on the road.

·
Registered
487 Posts
There is plenty of oil film on the engine internals to provide protection until the oil pump re-primes (about 2 seconds) and the motor is getting new oil everywhere it needs.

Top up the gas oil battery charge/ Check the tire pressure and ride.

·
Registered
61 Posts
I live in north Texas where winter storage it not an issue/required. However, as motocross, cross country, and trials rider I've spent many hours on the KTMTalk forum where this subject is a common topic of discussion among riders in the northern states and Canada.

Before Starting: