R1200GS Forum banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi All

I have been riding big sport tourers for the past 40 years and am looking to get an adventure bike.

On my list is the R1250GSA, new Tiger 1200 and KTM 1290 Adventure

R1250GSA at the top of the list but also the top of the list in price. I currently ride a Kawasaki ZX14R setup for touring and ride on average 15,000 kms per year. My desire for an adventure bike is to get off the beaten track (off tar) to more interesting places and a more comfortable seating position.

Any tips would be most appreciated.

TH

·
Registered
2006 R1200GS, 2007 R1200GS. 2005 R1200GS, 2009 R1200GS, 2009 R1200GSA, 2005 R1200GS, 2006 R1200GS, 2
2,007 Posts
You can also look for nice used bike to test the waters. If Adventure riding takes ahold then decide if you want a different bike. If you find Adventure riding is not your thing you can sell off the used bike at little to no loss.

Krons also offers sage advise(y)

·
Registered
201 Posts
I have a 14 GS and love it. My friend has a 1290 KTM. The 1290 is a hooligan bike for sure, and he always has to have a bike that is faster than mine. Off-road, the GS is more friendly and I can pick it up by myself. The 1290 was difficult for both of us to pick up, as it falls completely flat to the ground. The Tiger is a nice bike, but very top heavy. Can't go wrong with any of them as long as you understand the differences, and know your priorities.
Wheel Tire Plant Vehicle Motorcycle

·
Registered
71 Posts
I bought the GSA over the GS. Didn't even test out the other options, the BMW just hit all the right buttons for me. I got the GSA as it has crash bars on it, driving lights and the larger gas tank (and slightly larger windscreen) which gives it more wind protection on the highway. Oh and comes with better OffRoad pegs as well. And, as I'm just under 5' 10", I got the factory lowered version.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·