R1200GS Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I am probably not the typical first time GS buyer. I started riding motorcycles over 50 years ago in Alaska. Typical for the late 60's and early 70's in AK off-road bikes were the norm and I went through the typical series of bikes, started with a Honda SL100, graduated to a CL77 then went to a Husqvarna 400. Moved to Florida and found little need for what were then pretty primitive off-road bikes and traded the Husqvarna for a Triumph T120 that needed a lot of work and traded that for a Honda CB500 that was bullet proof. Along came a job, wife and kids and motorcycles were a casualty. I started riding again about 20 years ago, and like a lot of middle aged guys just had to buy a big Harley well actually a series of them. Don't misunderstand, I really enjoyed them and the wife and put 15 to 20K miles a year on them. We both still like to ride, but she has transitioned to a Can Am Spyder and I don't want to ride a bike that tops out over 900 pounds with gear.

I rented a 1200RT, and while it was a nice bike it just didn't appeal to me. I don't remember why but on a ride a friend wanted to try my Harley, his bike was a R1200GS and after about 5 minutes knew that I was going to buy one. Our local dealer had a 2016 with less than 3000 miles on it, it is now in my garage! My problem is a perplexing one. Not a lot of 65 year old's ride them and in south Florida no one I know really knows how to ride them. I spent a lot of years riding Harley dressers on MC drill teams. I like to know, and ride to, my bikes limits.