R1200GS Forum banner
1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
As I am new to the GS world and to this site, first wanted to say hello.

I have purchased a 2016 GSA but it came without a nav. I see that there is quite the debate between the V and the VI. Any advice or guidance from your experiences is greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks Rick for the information. I have heard of these issues but also have heard that the new screen also has more glare due to the glossier screen.

·
Registered
1,128 Posts
You can find used NAV V or NAV VI on forums. @rsmith was selling a NAV V on this forum recently?

·
Registered
1,057 Posts
Thanks Rick for the information. I have heard of these issues but also have heard that the new screen also has more glare due to the glossier screen.
I have used both the Nav 5 and the Nav6.
My Nav 5 never failed and Nav 6 has failed once. Other than that the 6 is faster and ofc has a beautiful screen which is easy to read even in bright sunshine.

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 · (Edited)
Welcome to the forum. The nav 6 has a better screen but has more problems. Garmin has been great about swapping out the defective ones.
I have used both the Nav 5 and the Nav6.
My Nav 5 never failed and Nav 6 has failed once. Other than that the 6 is faster and ofc has a beautiful screen which is easy to read even in bright sunshine.
thanks virkdoc for the insight and info.

·
Registered
94 Posts
Try Adventure Rider. Go to flea market, parts. Nav 5’s come up frequently. $350 to $400. Is the going price.

·
Super Moderator
1,026 Posts
Having owned and extensively ridden with Nav IV, Nav V, and Nav VI there's no doubt in my mind that the Nav VI is worth it. It has a much faster processor for faster map refreshes when needed and a much more readable screen in bright conditions. It's just better in every way and I've had no trouble with mine in going on 5 years.

Reactions: Dan Diego