R1200GS Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I usually spend the winter planning my one long trip with ever detail set for take off probably during the 4th of july week next year. I have no experience riding in Canada or Novascotia but want to head up through northern indiana through Michigan over the top of the St Lawrence sea way cross over at Montreal and head to do a round trip of Novascotia. Hoping to get it done in 9 or ten days with aprox of 3 to 4 thousand miles round trip. Questions remain about things like gas, road condtions, and other unforseen issues. I would hope to camp most of it and only stay at a hotel if i have to. Does any one have Canadian riding experience and what insight can you give? Is there any one in the northern indiana southern michigan area interested in such a adventure? Thanks for any info!

·
Chicago
36 Posts
Expect to pay more for gas,their dollar is almost equal to ours now.
Plenty of places to camp,weather can be anything at anytime.
Roads are and can be paved or stone.
Contact your insurance carrier for an out of country insurance card providing they will still cover you and your bike while aboard.
Really no different than touring here in America.
3-4000 miles in 10 days requires you to go about 500 miles a day.
Don't speed in Canada their a little more touchy on the subject than us here in the States. Forget about radar detectors..againt the LAW there.
Alcohol and driving is a BIG NO-NO...as in a Felony,if you have a DUI or DWI here in the states,forgetabout crossing without special permission.
Don't forget your PassPort!
.....Have FUN!!!!!!!!!!!!!

·
Registered
34 Posts