R1200GS Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been riding on BMW street bikes since 1998, in fact all K series bikes starting from the K1200RS to my current K1600GTL. I rented a R1200RT in Europe for a week in 2017, and finally found out what the fuss was about when it comes to the boxer models. I ride in a local BMW chartered club where 90% of the club members have a GS. Attended a BMW Demo Day in PA in the fall and tried the S1000XR, R1250GS and the K1600B and was smitten by the GS. I'm hoping to pick one up this spring so I can join in on the offroad fun that my clubmates have.

So I'm the lookout for a used GS to learn the platform instead of a new one for now. I'm also looking forward to reading about the cool farkles and gear that you experienced members have tried and rated.

·
Registered
1,014 Posts
Welcome @richlew !
There are several K bike riders and former K bike riders like myself here. Ask away if you have any questions.
Ride safe.

·
Registered
169 Posts
I've been riding on BMW street bikes since 1998, in fact all K series bikes starting from the K1200RS to my current K1600GTL. I rented a R1200RT in Europe for a week in 2017, and finally found out what the fuss was about when it comes to the boxer models. I ride in a local BMW chartered club where 90% of the club members have a GS. Attended a BMW Demo Day in PA in the fall and tried the S1000XR, R1250GS and the K1600B and was smitten by the GS. I'm hoping to pick one up this spring so I can join in on the offroad fun that my clubmates have.

So I'm the lookout for a used GS to learn the platform instead of a new one for now. I'm also looking forward to reading about the cool farkles and gear that you experienced members have tried and rated.
Hi Rich, go for the 1250GS. It’s a great compliment to my GT.

·
Registered
798 Posts