R1200GS Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
2005 BMW R 1200 GS
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,
I'm fairly new to the Beemer Boxer engine, I feel like I'm on a right path as I purchase the Bike with 27K miles. I feel like it might have been sitting for a while somewhere tires are pretty cracked I could be wrong.
I recently took a long trip on this bike and half way I realize my pants and shoes were soiled with motor oil, checked the spark plug on the right side and there was a small amount of oil under the cover. I cleaned it really well checked to see if the plug was loose but all was well.
I imagine doing some research that it might be the interior gasket (looks like a O ring)

I have read some places that the gasket does not need to be replaced every time you open the cylinder headcover, they are not that expensive ( I will probably just replace it)

Wondering if anyone has experienced the same or similar issues and what else I should look for
2005 BMW R1200GS
I need to install my crash bars, replace the tire and do an oil change once I figure out this oil leak issue.
Automotive lighting Gesture Automotive exterior Automotive design Auto part
Automotive parking light Hood Vehicle Motor vehicle Bumper

Hood Automotive lighting Motor vehicle Automotive tire Vehicle

Motorcycle Vehicle Automotive lighting Automotive tire Wheel

Automotive tire Motor vehicle Automotive lighting Vehicle Automotive exhaust

Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
2006 R1200GS, 2007 R1200GS. 2005 R1200GS, 2009 R1200GS, 2009 R1200GSA, 2005 R1200GS, 2006 R1200GS, 2
2,183 Posts
I bet when you pull the valve cover you find the gasket was pinched and not fully seated over the casting boss. It's fairly east to know it off kilter especially if you have tight fitting crash bars where you have to wiggle the valve cover to get it past.

These do not need to be replaced unless they were damaged or split. It's not bad medicine to have an extra on hand just in case.

Cheers,

P-14

·