R1200GS Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
2013 R1200GS Rallye
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,

I am new to GS ownership, and was somewhat surprised by its ride quality at highway speeds. It's an absolute dream on country roads at 60mph, but when I get up to 80 on a highway I find that I don't feel nearly as planted on it as I used to on my old middleweight naked Honda. Maybe this is expected given the upright riding position or the knobby tires (which I plan on swapping for a proper road set), but I was surprised that heavy wind gusts and road bumps can make the front wheel feel slightly wobbly.

Could this be an indication of a wheel alignment issue, or something even more serious? I'm embarrassed to admit that I tried to ride away with a lock on the front brake rotor in the first week of ownership – could that have damaged the front fork or thrown the wheel out of alignment?

Appreciate any thoughts on the matter.

Best,

-s

·
Registered
R1250GS 2021
175 Posts
I think your problem is with tires. Any ADV bike I purchased, that came new with 80/20 tires, gave me some instability on higher speeds. My new GS came with Michelin Anakee Adventure tires and I'm realy surprised how stable and planted it feels on high speeds. But after they get worned I'll fit 100% tires, as i did on all of my previous ADV bikes Because Anakee's are too noisy for my taste.
Now, I can imagine knobby tires being dangerous on higher speeds but I can't be too sure of that as I've never used knobbies.
Just for your information, I took my GS to 125 mp/h with Anakee's and felt no instability. I can't wait to get 100% road tires (probably Michelin Road 5) and get to that speed just to see the difference.

·
Registered
R1200GS 2012 K25
3 Posts
If it feels wobbly at 80mph - it's not normal.
  • And it's definitely not your position. I'm around 6'1", riding on the seat in the upper position, no issues whatsoever.
  • Can you still feel it if you take all the panniers off?