R1200GS Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to the GS world, and I am looking at purchasing a 2009 r1200gs with 70,000 miles on the OD.

Is there anything specific I should be looking for during inspection that is unique to the GS line?
What larger dollar maintenance items am I looking over the next 10-20,000 miles?
Any advice for a new GS owner?

Thank You

·
Super Moderator
597 Posts
Welcome. The 2004-2009 are essential the same bike with minor variations. 2010-2012 are also oil cooled, but with a twin cams added to the mix.

Main things you'll find in a test drive (noises, leaks, etc), transmission is known to be a bit agricultural so don't expect it to be buttery smooth. It has a dry clutch and if original may be time for replacing if it slips. That requires splitting the bike, big $$$. If you want you can put it in gear when off and on center stand to see if driveline/final drive has more slop than spec. Whether it have service history or not a good idea to do the full 36/72k service so you know it is solid, easy DIY.

Try these threads and throw out any questions on them:

·
Registered
436 Posts
Having bought 4 of them since February 2020 I look the bike over for obvious leaks especially under the bike where the transmission mated to the engine. After that start the bike and listen for oddities.

I always plan on fully servicing the bike when I get it home so I know what was done with what and exactly when. This happens no matter if the owner had the dealership service the day before I bought it. This also gives me a chance to really look the bike over and make small repairs as/if needed.

The good news is the folks riding GS’s are typically more mature than a 20 year old with a sport bike tapping the rev limiter while doing burnouts trying to impress his buddies.. While a lot of GS’s are well used they are also well taken care of.