R1200GS Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello guys
Im pretty new with my bike so I have a lot of question that user manual wont cover.
So here I go,
Do you know how its possible to activate my OEM fog ligths without turn on the main headlight, just with the diurning lights?
Im attaching picture
I found its possible with denali smartcan or hexa but with aftermarket ligths
So I have seen some bikes with OEM fog ligths on without the main headlight on, but how?
Thank you

Attachments

·
Administrator
1,252 Posts
I don't know of anyway to turn off your main head light and just for perspective I don't think I've ever felt the need to even when skulking around looking for a stealthy camp site. I've never seen a 1200GS with its headlight off while on the go. Maybe someone else can chime in and educate us if this is possible? The OEM accessory lights are activated, as virkdoc mentioned, with a button on the left hand bar. Since these lights are canbus controlled/special wiring I think it would be difficult to control/configure them with an ezCAN or the like.

Reactions: Ryno23

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Hello
Yes i tried that button, it only works when the headligth are on ( like low beam on) , but if i want to turn the fog lights with the low beam of, it wont turn on the fog ligths :(
I though it was kind of a trick to make that work

·
Registered
2017 White GSA
1,364 Posts
I don't think the head light will turn off.
You should be able to turn off fog lights/driving lights with the switch @virkdoc mentions and that is the only switch that controls them.

·
Registered
40 Posts
It depends on your country. In the USA and a number of other places, you can't turn off the main beam because it's considered a daytime running light. It'll be disabled in the software.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·