R1200GS Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I know this is another post. I don’t have a local dealer and I have to fly to get my bike. They have a short in stock and a reg in 2 week. I’m 5’10 inseam 31-32. I been riding bikes my whole life and have raced MX. I also am a pro mountain bike rider. I’m new to adventure bikes. Most of my riding will be on road, some off-road. Not sure how crazy off road I will be doing since I’m in the north east. Any suggestions would be helpful. I wish I could try both bikes out.

·
Registered
127 Posts
If you off road, then standard. If you have to have both feet planted, then short (Lowered). I'm 5-11 and inseam is 31, I ride a standard. If I want to have better stability with both feet down more, I put the ESA to MIN. I rode the entire MABDR in MIN or when things got interesting, Enduro Pro which put the bike in a little taller height then Auto.

·
Registered
89 Posts
I'm an inch taller than you
I know this is another post. I don’t have a local dealer and I have to fly to get my bike. They have a short in stock and a reg in 2 week. I’m 5’10 inseam 31-32. I been riding bikes my whole life and have raced MX. I also am a pro mountain bike rider. I’m new to adventure bikes. Most of my riding will be on road, some off-road. Not sure how crazy off road I will be doing since I’m in the north east. Any suggestions would be helpful. I wish I could try both bikes out.
I'm a inch taller and have the regular height '18 GS1200 GSA. The standard ride height is fine in both auto and max modes. If I'm stuck in traffic, I sometimes put it in min mode and have both feet flat on the ground. The bike rides well with no ground reach issues in auto or max even without the top box and panniers. There is a slight 'butt shift' needed for flatfoot at stoplights in max but that's an easy mussel memory to learn.