R1200GS Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Thank you for allowing me access to this R1200GS forum.

Although I'm a R-RT driver since 1997, i've a request for BMW riders of other models like the GS series.

Let me introduce myselves,
My name is Robbert, 50+ years old and a BMW rider since 1997. Last year I started a techical study at a dutch academy ("one is never to old te learn" according to a dutch saying) For an assigment of the course reliability of technical systems, I have to write an technical paper about failure modes and a root-cause analyses. I'm challenged to "bring my own problem" and my motorcycle is the lucky one;-)

Some background:
In 1997 I bought a second hand motorcycle to commute between my house and work in the “randstad” in Holland. It was a BMW R80RT. As I am interested in mechanics, I decided to do the maintenance my selves. As source of information I used 3th party maintenance manuals and internet fora. In 2019 I bought my third motorcycle a BMW R1200RT-P, a former police motorcycle, again with the intention to do (almost) all maintenance myself. Browsing over Internet fora I found a lot of disturbing items about failures of the drive-shaft of these motorcycles. I’ve never read these kind of failures on the older R-series motorcycles.

The assignment:
The assignment will cover common failures of the drive-shaft of BMW R1200 model motorcycles. It will contain an analysis of the failure modes, a root cause analyse and when possible advise how to prevent these failures.

Using a survey I try get collect information about drive-shaft fails, can I find a relation to certain models or usage?

I would be greatful if you would fill in this Survey if youre motorcycle had a drive-shaft failure. It should take not more than 5 minutes of your time.

All provided information will only be used for this assignment.

Robbert

link to the: Survey

·
Registered
553 Posts