R1200GS Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

· Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,

I'm a pro photographer, always hauling a lot of gear. I'd prefer to take my 1200GSA when I travel to photoshoots, but never have enough room. I'm curious if anyone has a hitch and trailer set up on their moto and what are your thoughts?

Thanks in advance!!

Dejan

· Premium Member
1,366 Posts
I see that no one has responded to this inquiry so I'll offer an opinion. First and foremost, I don't own a trailer for my GSA. In my riding experience, I've seen two motorcycles with trailers go down. Both jackknifed.

I did transport a Harley Davidson that was trailer equipped for a friend. He had a health issue while touring and had to leaved the rig and fly home. I rode his FLHT-something for three days on 80% interstate/20% US & state routes. I do not consider myself and expert by any means.

I found that the trailer pushes the motorcycle a bit when stopping. Obviously, the more you place inside the trailer, the more push is generated. I found it to be a bit disconcerting and began riding more defensively in order to avoid panic-stop situations. Also, the trailer was a bit "bouncy" and I could feel that on more bumpy sections. Being a very amateur photographer, I'd hate to put my prized photo equipment in there.

If you decide to get the trailer, I'd encourage you to get a bit of experience under your belt before loading it up for a photo shoot. Get the feel of it and be careful.

Mike

· Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I see that no one has responded to this inquiry so I'll offer an opinion. First and foremost, I don't own a trailer for my GSA. In my riding experience, I've seen two motorcycles with trailers go down. Both jackknifed.